Knust kunst*), or a small catastrophe

February 12, 2009

*) Knust = Broken, Kunst = Art
Well, well. Look at this. The crafty blogger at work. Trying to bake bread while uploading photos from this weekend’s craftystuffgalleryvisitingthrift. And vintage Egersund terracotta (inherited from husband’s grandmother) tray slips out of fingers, falls down to stone kitchen floor and breaks (full of dough) in too many pieces for putting back together. 
Is this a message? Blogger is unable to do something worthwhile, as baking bread for the household. Bread. The most basic of foods. If there is a direct causal link between the artycraftystuff and this lack of ability to bake bread, well.. maybe not, but there is certainly a question of attention and priority. Bread is a necessity, craftyarty stuff may not be. Distribution of attention and priority. Well, well. You could always say that bread can be bought in the supermarket, and if you insist on baking your own bread, why not get one of those big foodprocessors. I hope my husband won’t kill me now..*)
These are the photos I was uploading while this small catastrophe took place. I’m too shaken to comment on what you se at the moment, but update will follow as soon as I settle down: 

Well, time has passed and the impact of the above mentioned accident has faded. Who knows, maybe the tray can be glued back to it’s original shape. And enough of the dough was saved to make to loaves of bread. I’m putting the incident behind me now..
The above is a picture of a textile print I bought on Sunday at Kunstindustrimuseet where I saw this exhibition .
The exhibition shows different craft items produced by the PLUS group of artisans, and the print is made by Kari Fronth, one of the members of this group. The print shows the old town of Fredrikstad, where the PLUS group had their workshops. 
I also got this, a candleholder it is actually. I love the shape of it, organic, round, smooth. Made by an artist called Kjersti Johanessen
And these two… he, he, well. They are made by myself and my four year old son. We joined a workshop at the museum for kids and parents to learn how to do textile print. So when we got home we had to try some ourselves. I cut a potato in half, carved a pattern in it and sponged it full with ordinary watercolor. On paper. I also tried with an apple (you see the bigger turquoise circles on picture above), but the paint wouldn’t stick very well, the apple was to moist. 
Now I’m all eager to try real textile print stuff, so I’ve shopped for proper paint and things to do it with. I doubt I will find much time to bake bread in the near future.. 
 
*) take it easy, this was just a joke. He will be upset, but he will spare my life.

2 Responses to “Knust kunst*), or a small catastrophe”

  1. Eliza Says:

    that is so upsetting! On Tuesday I inherited some plates that had belonged to my grandmother’s aunt, and I am guarding them with my life, unsure still of what to do with them.

    I would also argue that home baked bread is as essential as knitting and crafting.

  2. Monstermønster Says:

    Godt å vite at han ikke dreper deg…

    Takk for et flott skrevet mønster, jeg har nettopp blogget Honeypie, og skryter uhemmet av mønsteret på bloggen. Skulle jeg kommet med innspill, mangler det forslag til hvor mye garn som blir brukt.


Leave a Reply

